The Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), Nigeria’s main opposition party won the eight chairmanship positions and 105 councillorship seats in local government elections conducted by the Bayelsa Independent Electoral Commission (BYSIEC).

Eye9ja that the PDP candidates emerged winners of the positions after candidates of the All Progressives Congress (APC) boycotted the poll.

The poll came three months to the much-anticipated governorship election in the oil-rich state slated for November 16.

Eye9ja reports that the returning Officers from the eight local council areas took turns to declare the results of the election at the BYSIEC collation centre at the Yenagoa City Council.

The results sighted by Eye9ja showed that; “Diepreye Ubarugu of the PDP polled 42,539 votes to beat other contenders to emerge Chairman of Kolokuma-Opokuma LGA while Dr. Bertola Perekeme scored 62,529 to clinch that of Ekeremor.”

In Southern Ijaw; Alali Embelakpor was declared winner of Sagbama Chairmanship election with 96, 468 votes and Kia Nigeria topped other candidates with 107,150 votes to win.

Victor Isaiah, PDP’s candidate, was declared winner of Brass after scoring 28,667 votes while Ebinyo Turnah won Ogbia with 17,661 votes.

Alalibo West son with 54,562 votes while Oropaye Nimizua became the Major of Yenagoa City-elect with 89,831 votes in Nembe.

This online news platform understands that prior to the wins by the PDP, Chief Remember Ogbe, the Chairman of BYSIEC, officially declared the eight PDP candidates as new Chairmen of the eight Local Government Councils.

While reacting to the outcome of the election, the Bayelsa state governor, Seriake Dickson, described the local government council election in the state as peaceful, free, fair and credible.

“Report from the security commanders across the state have given me the overview which does not indicate any major concern.

“Our hope and expectation is that this exercise will end peacefully just as it has started on a peaceful and orderly note.

“The major opposition party in the state on their own decided to boycott the election but there are still over 30 political parties that presented candidates for the election and so it will be a contested election.

“But at the end of the day, I call on all persons to vote according to their conscience in an orderly and peaceful manner,” the Governor said

Facebook Comments
Eye 9ja is a digital news platform, strategically focussed on identifying, bringing into limelight the eluded gists in every news