See List Of APC Candidate Qualified To Contest Bayelsa Primary Election.
APC Logo

The All Progressives Congress APC election screening committee has drawn to a close the screening of aspirant contesting the Bayelsa state governorship election on its platform.

The primary of APC in Bayelsa state is scheduled to hold August 29th.

Isa Song, the head of  Bayelsa  State Gubernatorial Primary Election Screening committee of APC, disentitle Dr. Briyai Oyeins Frankland, the past  Cross River State Resident Electoral Commissioner (REC).

Eye9ja recalls Briyai recently resigned his appointment as the REC in charge of Cross River State in INEC.

According to the report, the committee disentitled Briyai for not being a card-carrying member of APC for up to one calendar year.

However, candidates cleared to contest the party’s primary election include Preys Aganaba, Prince Ebitimi Amgbare, Ms. Diseye Poweigha, Mr. Lyon David, Professor Ongoebi Etebu and Senator Heineken Lokpobiri.

The committee in a report which was signed by all its seven members addressed to the National Chairman of the party said that the exercise was conducted in line with the rules and code of conduct of APC.

“Each aspirant was asked questions relating to qualifications and conduct in line with both party constitution and election guidelines to contest for the Governorship Primary election under the platform of the APC”, the report said.

“We also asked them to produce evidence of membership of the party, voters card, and payment of the prescribed fees as well as the original copy of their credentials for sighting. The screening committee was empowered to screen aspirants for the governorship election for Bayelsa’

“Therefore, Dr. Briyai Frank land was not cleared and disqualifies on the ground of Section 3 paragraph ‘L’ of the guideline for the nomination of candidates”.

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) had announced November 16 for the conduct of the governorship election in Bayelsa State.


Facebook Comments