There might be looming disaster following the recent ban of Tricycles, fondly called Keke and Motorcycles, popularly known as Okada from some major roads in Lagos, following Governor Babajide Sanwo-Olu‘s directive.

Eye9ja reports that the ban restricted Motorcycles and Tricycles from accessing six local government areas, nine local council development areas, as well as 40 bridges in Lagos state.

The six local governments include; Apapa, Lagos Mainland, Surulere, Ikeja, the Lagos state capital, Eti-Osa and Lagos Island, while the nine local council development areas include; Apapa-Iganmu, Yaba, Itire-Ikate, Coker-Aguda, Onigbongbo, Ojodu, Ikoyi-Obalende, Iru Victoria Island, Lagos-Island West.

In a statement obtained by Eye9ja, digital and internet-enabled transport operators such as O’pay’s ORide, Gokada were not left out in the ban as these operators were perceived to also have their contributions to the negativity that gave birth to the new directive, banning the use of motorcycles and Tricycles on some selected Lagos roads.

The new law takes effect from Saturday, February 1, 2020, as anyone caught on the restricted roads might be made to face the full wrought of the law.

On the reason for the ban of Okadas and tricycles in Lagos, the statement that was exclusively obtained by Eye9ja noted with facts, that the rate of crime aided by Okada and Keke keeps rising in the state, hence the need to ban the means of transportation became imperative.

“A total number of 600 deaths of innocent passengers resulting from recklessness of Okada riders have been reported. From 2016 to 2019, over 1000 accidents were reported in Lagos State General Hospitals, including unreported cases in non-government medical facilities,” parts of the statement read.

The statement furthermore added that the ban of Okada and Keke Maruwa on the Lagos roads was also in consonance with the Lagos State Transport Reform Law of 2018.

As compiled by Eye9ja, below is the full list of the 40 bridges in Lagos where the sight of Okada and Keke Maruwa have been banned by the Lagos state Governor.

  • Iyana-Ipaja
  • Dopemu
  • Airport/Ikeja
  • Agege Motor Road/Oshodi loop
  • Mushin/Isolo Link
  • Dorman Long
  • Ojuelegba
  • National Stadium Flyover
  • Apapa/Iganmu
  • Apapa/Ijora Link
  • Liverpool Road, Apapa
  • Mile 2 Loop, Amuwo Odofin
  • Okota (Cele)/Ijesha
  • Apakun/Apapa- Oshodi Bridge Network
  • Ikorodu Road/ Anthony Clover Leaf
  • Trade Fair Flyover
  • Festac/Amuwo-Odofin Link
  • Ikeja General Hospital Flyover
  • Two Flyover bridges along Alhaji Masha Road, Surulere
  • Ojota Clover Leaf
  • Ogudu Bridge
  • Third Mainland Bridge
  • MaryLand Flyover
  • Kodesoh Bridge, Oba Akran Ikeja
  • Opebi Link
  • Sheraton-Opebi Link
  • Jibowu/Yaba Flyover
  • Carter Bridge
  • Bariga-Ifako
  • Apapa-Oshodi Expressway/Alapere
  • Bariga/Oworonshoki
  • Apapa-Oshodi Expressway/ Gbagada
  • U-Turn
  • Third Mainland/Oworonshoki Bridge
  • Apapa-Oshodi Expressway
  • Eko Bridge
  • Apongbon Flyover
  • Cowry Bridge (Officer Mess)
  • McEWEN Bridge (Bonny Camp)
  • Marina-Ikoyi Bridge
  • Ikoyi-Obalende Bridge
Facebook Comments
Eye 9ja is a digital news platform, strategically focussed on identifying, bringing into limelight the eluded gists in every news